UA-87681140-1
top of page
White_paper.png

> Frye Academy

A book club for students in grade 9 to 12

Registration is now closed, see you next year!

What to expect?

Design_Website_Frye_academy.png

4 books to read from November to January

Design_Website_Frye_academy.png

3 debates with club members

coffee.png
Design_Website_Frye_academy.png

2 books in English, 2 books in French

Design_Website_Frye_academy.png

1 winning author invited to meet you at the Frye Festival in April!

The books are offered for free to all jury members, who must in turn read them and participate in the debates as well as the meet the author.

cloud.png

Participation guide:

  1. Fill out the form (linked below)

  2. Confirm your commitment to read the books and your availability to attend the debates

  3. Read the books and participate in the debates

  4. Vote for your favourite book!

Registration deadline : November 1, 2022

Reader_cat.png

Registration is now closed, see you next year!

Books to read for Frye Academy's 14th series of debates:

La fille d'elle-même,
Gabrielle Boulianne-Tremblay

9782925059103_large.jpg

Dans un village à la lisière d’une forêt de conifères, une petite fille se sent différente ; tout le monde croit qu’elle est un garçon. Souliers toujours trop petits, coupe champignon, elle se fait traiter de fille manquée, fume des cigarettes pour ne plus grandir et traîne pendant toute son adolescence un garçon mort dans son portefeuille, jusqu’à ce qu’elle se donne naissance en quittant la terre à l’origine de sa tristesse.

Éditions Marchand de feuilles

9782925059103 | 26,95 $

The Annual Migration of Clouds,
Premee Mohamed

The Annual Migration of Birds.png

ECW Press

9781770415935 | $ 19.95

The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away — to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society — but she can’t bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she’s offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can’t even trust her own mind?

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead, Emily Austin

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead - Emily Austin_2.jpg

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Washington Square Press

9781982167363 | $ 24.95

Valide
Chris Bergeron

9782897722814_large.jpg

XYZ

9782897722814 | 24,95 $

D’abord : ceci est une mutinerie. Et si notre mutinerie doit réussir, il faut que je nomme bien les choses, sans détour. Sans ça, tu ne dérogeras pas à tes certitudes. Alors voilà: je suis trans. Comme dans transgression. J’ai cassé les genres, je me suis soustraite aux codes. Je suis trans. Comme dans translation. J’ai fait glisser les éléments qui constituent ma personne d’un état vers un autre. Ma géométrie a été variable. Je suis trans. Comme dans transmutation. Ma vie est une alchimie. J’ai fait de l’or avec du plomb. Je suis trans. Comme dans transports amoureux. J’ai connu toutes les ardeurs. Celles des femmes, celles des hommes et celles de cielleux qui ont quitté le bal des binarités.

bottom of page